The Meaning of Bliss

Akhil Sreekumar
2 min readOct 26, 2020

--

Riding down a silky road

The skies are gold and starry though

My pedals clank and gears they whirr

While climbing hills, the engine purrs

The air is fresh, and fine and free

Responsibilities don’t abound in glee

The speed and cold they stoke my flames

A flaming heart, whose strength reclaimed

The sun a shining half-moon globe

hidden, shivering ‘neath a cold

The rain a passing mistress both

expectant, busy and hath foretold

One by one, the hills traversed

into forests deep and diverse

Went my bike and me wrapped up

in coats to keep my weak flame up

The end was near, ahead in sight

the splendid sun with all its light

atop a mountain there i see

a true escape from all my plight

Serene and silent awaiting me

A heaven for people just like me

Silent, Strong, and drawn within

a shell of lonely thoughts and things

Amidst a plethora of expectations

Of dreams, not mine, and solemn ambition

We wade through rivers in silent trepidation

of futures lying in dying speculation

The sun the moon the stars and sky

are there forever in the sky

contemplating their own lives

till they choke, burn up and die

Until that moment truly comes

Live up this life, the only one

Enjoy this life before time come

The saying goes ‘Carpe Diem’

Trials and troubles, they abound

Some outside and most self bound

But in the darkness, look for light

You give some hope, and all is right

For now the sight is vast and deep

Heaven descends, for Earth to keep

The ground is soft, my eyes are bleak

My legs are stone, my hands are weak

The sun has set, the stars have rose

In all their glory, diamonds glow

Oh, Down below the streets ablaze

With life and lights and city glaze

Bliss is not a perfect ten,

Neither a throe of achievement

not defeat of competence

and not the taste of betterment

Bliss is something you and I

Come face to face with, every time

you meet some one, or do something

that fills you with a sense of being

As I sat beneath a tree,

My bike kept down beside by me

I gazed at stars and looked at lights

and wondered at my part in life

A single mite in heaven’s grasp

A speck of stardust, floating up

Kept at peace by little things

A bike, a hill, a bunch of dreams….

--

--